French American Doctoral Exchange Seminar (FADEx) : Ocean-Climate

, Lire cette page en français , Share

French Ph.D. students can refer to the French version of this article.

Introduction to FADEx-O

The objective of the French-American Doctoral Exchange (FADEx) program is to enhance exchanges between French and American PhD students working in the same field and to develop French-American scientific collaborations.

As with every edition of the FADEx program, ten American PhD students are invited for a week in France. The same number of French PhD students are also selected to follow this thematic seminar. This program allows these young researchers to present their work to their peers in an international conference situation (the language used is English) while remaining in an informal setting. PhD students can thus develop their skills in presentation of their scientific work, in analysis and in discussion. Participants in the program are also invited to attend conferences given by researchers who are experts in their field. This program also serves as an opportunity for American students to better understand the French research system. Bringing French and American students together is then used as a basis for developing future collaborations.

New in this edition, to encourage long-term exchanges, an equivalent seminar with the same young researchers will take place in the United States in spring 2018.

The theme of this session focuses on Ocean and Climate. Indeed, in 2015, the Office for Science and Technology of the Embassy of France in the United States chose the Ocean and Climate as a priority theme and launched a series of scientific workshops FACT-O, French -American Climate Talks on Ocean. Climate change adaptation and mitigation, at the heart of international discussions, necessarily involves a better understanding of the oceans which play an essential role in the climate system. The study of the oceans covers a wide spectrum of scientific disciplines, including marine geology, physical and chemical oceanography, marine biology and social sciences. FADEx-O is designed for young researchers from all these disciplines.

Program

All selected PhD students are invited to present their thesis at a seminar and a poster session. They also participate in workshops to identify scientific convergences and foster future collaborations. The program of visits in France takes place in three regions so as to visit some emblematic places of French oceanographic research: in Brittany, in Paris, and in Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur (Marseille-Nice). Because this is also an opportunity for sharing a good time between French and American delegations, this scientific seminar will also include tourist activities and friendly moments.

Application and Funding

The call for applications will be opened from May 2017. Ten Ph.D. students enrolled in American universities will be selected to participate in this post-graduate program and grants will be offered by the Office for Science and Technology to cover a round trip ticket to Paris, travel within France, accommodations and most meals. Non-US citizens enrolled in US universities are eligible, except French citizens. The jury will base its decision on the scientific excellence of each candidate, his/her motivation and the maturity of the scientific project.

Timeline

Submission of applications: May 2017
Results: June 2017
Seminar and visits in France: Beginning of October 2017
Seminar and visits in the United States: Spring 2018

Partners (TBC)

Scripps Institution of Oceanography - UC San Diego, University of Southern California, University of Maryland, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science - University of Miami

Ocean and Climate Platform, The European Institute for Marine Studies (IUEM) , Pierre and Marie Curie University (UPMC - Sorbonne Universités), Villefranche-sur-Mer oceanological observatory, Aix Marseille University, Mediterranean Institute of Oceanography, Ifremer, Paul Ricard Oceanographic Institute

Contacts:

Embassy of France in the United States
Office for Science and Technology
4101 Reservoir Road - Washington, DC 20007 - USA
- Pierre Michel, Attaché for Science and Technology, attache-envt@ambascience-usa.org, +1 (202) 944-6216
- Natan Leverrier, Deputy Attaché for Science and Technology, deputy-coop@ambascience-usa.org, +1 (202) 944-6252

French American Doctoral Exchange Seminar (FADEx) : Océan-Climat

, Read this page in English , Partager

Si vous êtes un doctorant inscrit dans une université américaine, merci de lire la version anglaise de cet article.

Présentation du FADEx-O

L’objectif du programme French-American Doctoral Exchange (FADEx) est de favoriser les échanges entre doctorants français et américains travaillant dans le même domaine et de développer les collaborations scientifiques franco-américaines.

Comme pour chaque édition du programme FADEx, une dizaine de doctorants américains lauréats du programme est invitée pendant une semaine en France. Des doctorants français sont également sélectionnés pour suivre ce séminaire thématique. Ce programme permet à ces jeunes chercheurs de présenter leurs travaux à leurs pairs dans une situation de conférence internationale (la langue utilisée est l’anglais) tout en restant dans un cadre informel ; les doctorants peuvent ainsi parfaire leurs aptitudes à la présentation de travaux scientifiques, à l’analyse et à la discussion. Les participants au programme sont également invités à assister à des conférences données par des chercheurs experts dans leur domaine. Les précédentes éditions ont montré que le programme FADEx permet d’améliorer la compréhension du fonctionnement de l’écosystème français de recherche et la connaissance des travaux qui y sont menées, Ce rapprochement sert ensuite de base pour développer de futures collaborations.

Nouveauté de cette édition, un voyage retour est organisé et les doctorants français bénéficient ainsi d’une semaine de séminaires et visites aux Etats-Unis afin d’encourager les échanges sur le long terme.

La thématique de cette session sera centrée sur l’Océan et le Climat. En effet, en 2015, le Service pour la Science et la Technologie de l’Ambassade de France aux Etats-Unis a choisi comme thématique prioritaire l’Océan et du Climat et a lancé la série d’ateliers scientifiques FACT-O, French-American Climate Talks on Ocean. La lutte contre le changement climatique, au cœur des discussions internationales, passe nécessairement par une meilleure compréhension des océans qui jouent un rôle essentiel dans le système climatique. L’étude des océans recouvre un large spectre de disciplines scientifiques dont la géologie marine, l’océanographie physique et chimique, la biologie marine et les sciences sociales. Le FADEx Océan-Climat s’addresse aux jeunes chercheurs de l’ensemble de ces disciplines.

Programme

Tous les doctorants sélectionnés sont invités à présenter leurs travaux de thèse lors d’un séminaire et d’une session posters. Ils participent également à des ateliers afin d’identifier les convergences scientifiques et de favoriser de futures collaborations. Le programme de visites en France se déroulent dans trois régions et permet de visiter des lieux emblématiques de la recherche océanographique française : en Bretagne, à Paris, et en Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur (Marseille-Nice). Parce qu’il s’agit aussi de partager un bon moment entre délégations françaises et américaines, ce séminaire scientifique comporte également des activités touristiques et des moments conviviaux.

Programme prévisionnel

Comment participer ?

L’appel à candidature sera bientôt ouvert. Une dizaine de candidats américains et autant de candidats inscrits en thèse en France seront choisis. Les lauréats seront sélectionnés par un jury sur des critères d’excellence, d’originalité de leur recherche et de motivation.

Financement

Le programme prend à sa charge le transport, l’hébergement ainsi que les repas des doctorants sélectionnés.

Dates

Soumission des candidatures : Juin 2017
Résultats : Juillet 2017
Séminaire et visites en France : du 15 au 21 octobre 2017
Séminaire et visites aux Etats-Unis : Printemps 2018

Partenaires

Partenaire aux Etats-Unis :

Partenaires en France :

Contacts :

Ambassade de France, Service pour la Science et la Technologie
4101 Reservoir Road - Washington, DC 20007 - USA
- Pierre Michel, Attaché pour la Science et la Technologie, attache-envt@ambascience-usa.org, +1 (202) 944-6216
- Natan Leverrier, Attaché adjoint pour la Science et la Technologie, deputy-coop@ambascience-usa.org, +1 (202) 944-6252