Call for nominations: AAAS Science Diplomacy Award

, Lire cette page en français , Share

Many scientists and engineers contribute valuable time away from the established career paths of research, teaching, and publishing to foster activities and develop programs that both address key science questions and build important societal links. The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) seeks to recognize an individual or a limited number of individuals working together in the scientific or engineering community for making an outstanding contribution to furthering science diplomacy.

Award Winners receive

- A monetary prize of $5,000,
- A commemorative plaque,
- Complimentary registration for the AAAS Annual Meeting,
- Reimbursement for reasonable travel and hotel expenses to attend the AAAS Annual Meeting
- A chance to publish a piece inScience & Diplomacy about his or her achievements.


The award is open to all regardless of nationality or citizenship. Nominees must be living at the time of their nomination. Any individual or small group in the scientific and engineering community that has contributed to the role of science cooperation in building stronger links between and among societies is eligible for this award.


Nominations should be typed and include the following information:

- Nominator’s name, address, and phone number
- Nominee’s name and title, institutional affiliation, and address
- A summary of the action(s) that form the basis for the nomination (about 250 words)
- A longer statement, not to exceed three pages, providing additional details of the action(s) for which the candidate is nominated
- A curriculum vitae (three page maximum) containing professional positions held
- Two letters of support
- Any documentation (books, articles, or other materials) that illuminates the significance of the nominee’s achievement may also be submitted.


The information requested for the submission must be send to with the subject line “AAAS Science Diplomacy Award Nomination.”


All materials must be received by September 1, 2015.